Skip Your Email AddressSkip Navigation
computer science courses.

Cambridge Nationals in Creative iMedia are media sector-focused, including film, television, web development, gaming and animation, and have IT at their heart. They provide knowledge in a number of key areas in this field from pre-production skills to digital animation and have a motivating, hands-on approach to both teaching and learning. Cambridge Nationals deliver skills across the whole range of learning styles and abilities, effectively engaging and inspiring all students to achieve great things. 

Resources and Activities for Coding Club 


Resources and activities to support the students entering BAFTA YGD competition in 2018

Resources activities and lessons for Year 7 2016-2017

This course contains all the resources and activities for Year 9 students taking the Core curriculum before opting for Computer Science or IT in year 10

Aims and learning outcomes

  • understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of Computer Science, including abstraction, decomposition, logic, algorithms, and data representation
  • analyse problems in computational terms through practical experience of solving such problems, including designing, writing and debugging programs
  • think creatively, innovatively, analytically, logically and critically
  • understand the components that make up digital systems, and how they communicate with one another and with other systems
  • understand the impacts of digital technology to the individual and to wider society
  • apply mathematical skills relevant to Computer Science.

The BTEC First Award in Information and Creative Technology is a level 2 qualification designed to inspire and enthuse learners to become technology savvy producers of technology products and systems, not just consumers. They provide learners with:

  • an understanding and knowledge of how organisations in the information technology and creative technology industries operate
  • the key skills required to work in these industries
  • key concepts and principles related to the world of information and creative technologies.

To achieve the Award you must study 2 core units plus further units to a total of 120 Guilded Learning Hours. The mandatory core units are Unit 1: The Online World OR Unit 2: Technology Systems AND Unit 3: A Digital Portfolio. The two further units will be Unit 4: Creating Digital Animation AND Unit 6: Creating Digital Graphics.

Units 1 and 2 are externally assessed by means of an online test. Units 3, 4 and 6 are internally teacher assessed.

Computer Science is a practical subject where students can apply the academic principles learned in the classroom to real-world systems. It’s an intensely creative subject that combines invention and
excitement, and can look at the natural world through a digital prism. 
The aims of this qualification are to enable learners to develop:

  • An understanding and ability to apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including: abstraction, decomposition, logic, algorithms and data representation
  • The ability to analyse problems in computational terms through practical experience of solving such problems, including writing programs to do so
  • The capacity to think creatively, innovatively, analytically, logically and critically
  • The capacity to see relationships between different aspects of computer science
  • Mathematical skills.

This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information, alongside other
fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in IT.

This course is a one A-level alternative, which is usually taught over 2 years (2 units studied in each year).

The units to be studied are;

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems 

Unit 2 Creating Systems to Manage Information

Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business

Unit 6 Website Development